Recognition and Awards

2019 OtterCares Innovation Station Grant

The Innovation Station Fund provides grants to schools and nonprofits for the creation of innovative, hands-on learning spaces that encourage students to invent, explore and create.  Bacon Elementary School received $10,000 for its Innovation Station.

Colorado Governor's Distinguished Improvement Awards

The Governor’s Distinguished Improvement Awards are given to schools that demonstrate exceptional student growth. On the school performance framework that is used by the state to evaluate schools, these schools "exceed" expectations on the indicator related to longitudinal academic growth and "meet or exceed" expectations on the indicator related to academic growth gaps.

  • 2017
  • 2016

Colorado John Irwin Schools of Excellence Awards

The John Irwin awards are given to schools that demonstrate exceptional academic achievement over time. These schools received an Exceeds Expectations rating on the Academic Achievement indicator of the School Performance Frameworks reflecting exceptional performance in Math, English Language Arts, and Science.

  • 2018
  • 2017

Excellence in Education Award Nominees

The Poudre School District Foundation’s annual Excellence in Education Award recognizes up to six teachers a year from the district for their achievements. Staff members from different schools nominate a deserving, experienced teacher for the award. Nominated teachers fill out a detailed list of questions and submit those, along with supporting letters from principals, fellow teachers, parents, and students. Below is a list of Bacon teachers who have been nominated district recognition.

  • 2018-19 Alice Eurek

Rotary Teacher of the Month Award Winners

The three Rotary Clubs in Fort Collins coordinate the Teacher of the Month/Year program selects worthy teachers who reflect the Rotary International principles: service, integrity, recognition of individual worthiness, advancement of international understanding and, personal responsibility to society. The Bacon principal makes the nomination.

  • 2019-20 Melissa Mize
  • 2018-19 Jennifer Martinez

Mary Hull Awards Nominees

The Poudre School District Integrated Services Department Annual Mary Hull Awards honors professionals who have demonstrated outstanding performance and dedication to students with disabilities. Staff can receive nominations as an Integrated Services Teacher, Collaborative Partner, Special Service Provider or Honorary Member.

  • 2020-21 Elizabeth Blocksma - Special Service Provider
  • 2019-20 Casey Peitz - Collaborative Partner
  • 2019-20 Meghan Rose - Integrated Services Teacher
  • 2018-19 Suzanne Jarosz - Collaborative Partner

ACE Employee of the Year Award Nominees

The Association of Classified Employees Employee of the Year Award honors and acknowledges classified staff for excellence in their work. Award recipients are employees who embody the mission of the Poudre School District, produce quality work, and consistently display characteristics valued and appreciated by coworkers. They are a reliable compass continually pointing PSD in the direction of its goals and aspirations.

  • 2019-20 Marla Rumley
  • 2018-19 Becky Burke
  • 2014-15 Karen Lanter